没有专业技能?别担心,这是我们希望看到的技能

Career stories | 文章

尽管你缺乏所需的部分技能或经验,但有时填补专业工作岗位空缺对你自己总归是有好处的。或者至少让面试官决定你是否能胜任此项工作。

 

正如我们在泰科易通科技设在世界各地的所有办事处看到的情形那样,如果你抱着正确的态度,即我们所说的泰科易通科技精神,你就够格了,我们可以培养你成长,让你迅速掌握专业技能。

 

我们并非说非此即彼。我们以泰科易通科技马耳他公司的客户支持经理Paul Muscat的经历为例加以说明。他过去一直想从事技术工作,但由于缺乏相关工作经验,他不知道自己能否如愿以偿。

 

“在加盟泰科易通科技之前,我曾在马耳他的青少年特殊教育学校教有学习障碍的学生,还在马耳他和泰国教过所有年龄段的学生英语”,他说道。

 

“我看到泰科易通科技在招人,看上去很有意思。我很想从事技术和软件方面的工作,因为我天生对此有兴趣,想看看在跨国公司工作是什么样的感受,所以我要试一试。”

 

正如人们常说的那样,接下来的事大家都知道了。

 

那么泰科易通科技最看重应聘者的哪些技能呢?我们看重可传授的软技能,例如:

 

沟通能力

从事技术工作,有时不需要表现出很好的沟通能力,因为你坐在计算机前面工作,不跟人打交道。我们不能代表所有机构,但泰科易通科技非常看重那些善于倾听别人意见、书面和口头表达能力强的人。无论是跟客户、顾客还是同事沟通,你都需要把自己要表达的事情讲清楚,这样对方才会明白你的意思并采取相应的行动。

 

在简历中提及的能力:不要笼统地说你有“良好的沟通能力”,而要说明你如何进行有效沟通。

 

分析能力

 

在泰科易通科技,你必须能准确分析情况,然后迅速得出令人信服的结论。很少有一目了然的问题;你常常要亲自去收集额外信息,可以是数据或情况记录,让需要你帮忙的人满意。

 

在简历中提及的能力:说明你用过的分析工具,例如Microsoft Excel和Google Analytics,以及能说明你的分析能力的工作经历。

 

轻重缓急处理能力

 

就技术工作而言,很少有只专注于一种情况或一件事的情形。因此,你必须有能力优先处理最重要的项目和任务,但要让所有各方都满意。

 

在简历中提及的能力:说明你熟悉的项目管理/生产力工具,例如Asana、Basecamp、Evernote和Google Drive,以及在哪种特定情况下优先处理两项任务中的一项任务。

解决问题的能力?

技术行业常常需要解决问题,在某个时候总会出现技术问题。接受培训可确保你能回答大多数问题,但有时你需要更进一步,要亲自解决问题。

 

在简历中提及的能力:简要介绍你在上一份工作中解决的特定问题,着重说明你是如何成功解决问题的。

 

如果你认为自己就是我们要找的人,请进入工作机会网页填写申请表!>>

No tech skills? No worries – THESE are the skills we want to see

Articles | Career stories

Sometimes it pays to tell yourself that you can fill a tech job vacancy despite not having some of the required skills or experience. Or at least let the interviewer decide whether or not you’re up to the task.

 

As we see it at Tek Experts in all of our offices around the globe, if you’ve got the right attitude and what we call the Tek Experts DNA, you’re in – we can work on bringing you up to speed with the technical elements.

 

We’re not just saying that either. Take Paul Muscat, Customer Advocate Manager, Tek Experts Malta, as an example. He always wanted to work in technology, but wasn’t sure he was going to be able to make it happen due to a lack of experience.

 

“Before joining Tek Experts, I worked in the education sector helping adolescents with learning difficulties in Malta and I also taught English in Malta and in Thailand to all different age groups,” he explains.

 

“I saw that Tek Experts was recruiting and it seemed interesting. I was excited about working with technology and software as I had a natural interest for it and wanted to see what it was like working in an international office environment, so I gave it a shot.”

 

The rest is history, as they say.

 

So, what are the skills that Tek Experts want to see in candidates? We’re looking for transferable soft skills, such as:

 

Communication skills

 

To work in tech, it’s sometimes assumed that you don’t need great communication skills, as you’ll be working behind a computer, away from people, anyway. We can’t speak for all organizations, but Tek Experts places a high value on people who can listen, write, and speak effectively. Whether you’re communicating with customers, clients, or colleagues, you’re going to need to be able to get your point across so that it is understood and can be acted upon.

 

What to mention on your resumé: Instead of just putting that you have “excellent communication skills”, demonstrate how you have communicated effectively.

 

Analytical skills

 

At Tek Experts, you need to be able to accurately assess a situation and then act to bring it to a swift and happy conclusion. Issues are rarely black and white; often you will have to go away and gather extra information – be it data or case notes – that will allow you to satisfy the person who requires your help.

 

What to mention on your resumé: Mention tools that you’ve used which have analytical qualities, such as Microsoft Excel, Google Analytics, as well as experience that demonstrates your analytical skills.

 

Prioritization skills

 

Rarely in tech jobs are you afforded the ability to concentrate only one case or piece of work. Therefore, you will need to have the skills to be able to prioritize the most important projects and tasks, but still keep all parties happy.

 

What to mention on your resume: Mention the project management/productivity tools you are familiar with such as Asana, Basecamp, Evernote and Google Drive, as well as specific occasions you have had to prioritize one task over another.

Problem-solving skills

 

Problems are commonplace in the tech industry – we’ve all had an issue with a piece of tech at some point in our lives. Your training will ensure that you can answer most problems, but sometimes you will need to go the extra mile and solve a problem yourself.

 

What to mention on your resumé: Briefly explain specific problems that you have had to solve in your previous positions, noting how you ensured they came to a successful resolution.

 

If you think you fit the profile of the people we are looking for, head to our careers page and fill in an application!>>